Applications are being accepted now through January 31st
to fill several AACO Committee positions.


AACO is extends an invitation to all members to apply for several committee positions. AACO depends on its members to volunteer their time and expertise to carry out the mission and work of the association. Applicants will have the opportunity to add their influence and voice to the corporate optometry community by joining an AACO Committee.

AACO President Dr. Vincent Facchiano, OD, FAAO, says “Our dynamic organization relies on its devoted membership to accomplish the goals and initiatives of AACO, and we are looking forward to both welcoming new committee members and to their valuable contributions.”

Effective immediately, the board of directors is accepting applications for openings on the following committees:

Committee Chairs: Melonie Clemmons, Carla Gasparini, Nikil Patel, Maurice Wilson
Editor-in-Chief: Doug Melzer
Term: February 2021 – February 2022
Description: This committee works on the flagship publication of AACO, Corporate Optometrist magazine. Committee members are involved in writing and reviewing articles, finding authors for articles, and suggesting content. This committee meets monthly via conference line and in person once a year at either the annual conference or during SECO in Atlanta.

Committee Chair: Drew Provost
Co-Chairs: Nils Ohlsen, Jennifer Bodley
Term: February 2021 – February 2022
Description: Works in partnership with AACO staff to develop and execute member recruitment and retention strategies and to provide input on membership-related processes. This committee meets bi-monthly via conference line and in-person at the AACO annual conference.

Committee Chair: Gordon Penn
Term: February 2021 – September 2021*
Description: Develops the education content for the AACO annual conference, selects speakers and topics for both local and nation audiences, advises on conference activities, and promotes attendance. The 2021 Annual Conference will be held August 20-22, 2021 in Orlando, Florida. The committee meets bimonthly via conference line.
*Committee members may apply to participate in the 2022 committee, the 2022 Conference will be held in May in Nashville

Committee Chairs:
SECO: Naheed Ahmad, Nikil Patel
Term: February 2021-May 2021*
GWCO: Nils Ohlsen
Term: February 2021 – October 2021*
Description: Defines education goals, develops education content and sources speakers for AACO’s co-located education meetings. Each year AACO conducts one-day CE education events in conjunction with SECO and GWCO. This committee meets bimonthly via conference line.
*Committee members may apply to participate in the 2022 committees

Committee Chairs: Michael Slusky, Vincent Facchiano
Term: February 2021 – February 2022
Description: Defines education goals, develops education content, and sources speakers for AACO’s Midwest conferences. Each Spring AACO conducts a one-day education session, held in the Midwest. This committee helps to define educational goals and topics relevant to both local and national audiences.

Committee Chairs: Dmitry Gutkovich (e-News), Elliott Shapiro (ElectrifEye Newsletter)
Term: February 2021 – February 2022
Description: Works on content for the electronic communications of AACO. Member e-News is an informational, quarterly message sent to AACO members and supporters. ElectrifEye Newsletter is a monthly newsletter containing relevant topics for all corporate optometrists. Committee members are involved in selecting topics, writing and reviewing articles, and approving content.

We are pleased to announce that the AACO Board is adding a Public Policy Committee which will develop initiatives around industry advocacy issue and a Student Engagement Committee to connect with optometry students and schools to further develop student programs.

Membership on AACO Committees is open all AACO members, some committees may have limited space. To apply for a committee position, interested parties should complete an application on-line by clicking HERE.

 Applications will be accepted through January 31st, 2021.


Tiffany A. Jackson, CAE
Executive Director and CEO, AACO
[email protected]